Google has announced the closure of its social networking site Google+. Google+ will close on 2 April, having failed to do the job Google created it for. The site was introduced in a bid to rival Facebook, but attempts proved futile – and, eight years after its founding, it has come to an abrupt end.
What will be deleted?
You may have qualms about losing some of your data, alongside Google+. Any Google+ pages you have created will be deleted, as will any media you have stored in your Google+ album archive. Therefore, if you don’t wish to lose anything, now is the time to back it up.
However, we do wish to reiterate that the deletion will not affect other Google services; none of your photos and videos stored in Google Photos will be affected. Any services linked to your Google account such as Gmail, YouTube and Google Maps will also continue to work.
Why is Google deleting its social
Google’s official explanation put the decision down to “low usage and challenges involved in maintaining a successful product that meets consumers’ expectations”. It’s possible that the decision is related to a data leak which “potentially affected up to 500,000 accounts”.
The leak allowed third-party applications to access users’ private information; however, Google claimed it found “no evidence that any profile data was misused”.
Do I need to do anything?
Nope. You can simply sit back and allow your account to be deleted. However, if you do use Google+ and wish to download all of your data, Google has supplied a page which you can visit in order to upload that data to a more widely-used social network.
Has the news surrounding Google+ made you rethink your social media strategy? Jumping Spider Media can help you, call us on 020 3070 1959.